The Joint Commission is comprised of 18 legislative members. Eight members of the Senate are appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and 10 members from the House of Delegates are appointed by the Speaker of the House. In addition, the Secretary of Health and Human Resources serves as a non-voting, ex officio member of the Commission.