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Two Bills Were Referred to JCHC for Review

Two similar bills - SB184 and HB1097 — that address requirements
for minor consent for voluntary inpatient psychiatric treatment were
referred to JCHC for additional study from the Senate and House
Courts of Justice committees.

» SB 184 (McWaters): Removes provisions of the Code requiring
the consent of a minor 14 years of age or older prior to admission
to a mental health facility for inpatient treatment. After admission,
if a minor 14 years of age or older objects to inpatient treatment,
his admission would need to be judicially approved.

e HB 1097 (LeMunyon): Eliminates the requirement that a minor
who is 14 years of age or older consent to inpatient psychiatric
treatment.

Parental Admission of Minors for Inpatient Psychiatric
Treatment Involves Interests of Parents, Children and
Government

Oraganizations Consulted for Study
American Civil Liberties Union
Attorney General of Virginia
Commonwealth Center for Children & Adolescents
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
disAbility Law Center of Virginia
Dominion Hospital
Judge David L. Bazelon, Center for Mental Health Law
JustChildren of the Legal Aid Justice Center
Local Community Services Boards
National Alliance on Mental IlIness of Virginia
National Conference of State Legislatures
Supreme Court of Virginia
UVA Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy
Virginia Association of Community Services Boards
Virginia Health Information
Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association
Voices for Virginia’s Children

Note: Code of Virginia §§16.1-338 and 16.1-339 address the criteria for
voluntary admission for inpatient treatment of minors




Adolescent Cognitive Development

» “The consensus to emerge from recent research on the adolescent brain is that
teenagers are not as mature in either brain structure or function as adults.”

» “These structural and functional changes do not all take place along one uniform
timetable, and the differences in their timing raise two important points relevant to
the use of neuroscience to guide public policy. First, there is no simple answer to the
question of when an adolescent brain becomes an adult brain. Brain systems
implicated in basic cognitive processes reach adult levels of maturity by mid-
adolescence, whereas those that are active in self-regulation do not fully mature until
late adolescence or even early adulthood. In other words, adolescents mature
intellectually before they mature socially or emotionally...”

- Laurence Steinberg, PhD

Should the Science of Adolescent Brain Development Inform Public
Policy?, Issues in Science and Technology, Spring 2012

Graphic Source: http://www.nih, i 162007brain.htm

A Patients Lack of Involvement in Treatment Decisions Is
Associated with Perceptions of Coercion

o “The patient’s lack of a “voice’ in treatment decisions was repeatedly
associated with perceived coercion”

- Newton-Howes and Mullen

« “The process of hospital admission, particularly having the opportunity
to state one’s case and be included in the decisionmaking process, was
seen by the patients as central to their experience.”

- Monahan et al

Different Opinions Can Exist on Whether Coercion Is Appropriate

e “Patients’ associations usually emphasize individual rights, ... while
relatives may insist more on the clinician’s duty to treat mentally ill
persons even against their will.”

- Bonsack and Borgeat

Sources: Charles Bonsack and Francois Borgeat, Perceived coercion and need for hospitalization related to psychiatric admission, International Journal of
Law and Psychiatry, Vol. 28, 2005, John Monahan et al, Coercion and Commitment: Understanding Involuntary Mental Hospital Admission, International
Journal of Law and Psychiatry, Vol. 18: No. 3, 1995, and Giles Newton-Howes and Richard Mullen, Coercion in Psychiatric Care: Systematic Review of
Correlates and Themes, Psychiatric Services, Vol. 62:5 May 2011.
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Parents With A Child in a Mental Health Crisis
Can Face Significant Challenges

« Facility related:

> Some facilities do not accept children with severe aggression or
history of violence

o |nsurance may not cover certain treatments

« Transportation related:
o Difficulty transporting an unwilling child to mental health facility

o Difficulty leaving child to get a ECO/TDO, so the minor can receive
mental health treatment

Source: JCHC staff conversations with selected parents of minors who have received inpatient
treatment 7

Types of Adolescent Behavioral Health Services
Assessment & Evaluation

Outpatient or Office Based Services

Less Child psychiatry, Medication management, Office-based mental health therapy,
Office-based substance abuse treatment, Educational support for families, Skills
training

Case Management
Children’s case management, Intensive care coordination
Home and Community Based Services
Intensity, > Home based family therapy services, Intensive in-home services, Mental health
support services, Behavioral therapy and supports for families, Independent living
cost, and supports for youth/young adults, School-based 1:1 therapy or behavioral
disruption of specialists, Mainstream or Self-contained school-based therapeutic day treatment,
P School-based after-school therapeutic day treatment, Summer programs for special
home-based education/behavioral challenges, Services in juvenile detention centers
family life Intensive Community Supports

Ongoing or respite In-home family supports, Sponsored placements — specialized
foster care or therapeutic foster care

Community Crisis Response Services 24/7 on-call specialized children’s
emergency Service access

Mobile child crisis response service (to schools, home), In-home crisis
stabilization support services, Emergency respite care placement service, Crisis
More stabilization unit for children

Residential -~ Group homes and residential treatment
cute Inpatient Care, Substance abuse detoxification or resi

Source: Adapted from Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, ltem 304.M. — Final Report: A Plan for Community Based 8
Children’s Behavioral Health Services in Virginia, November 1, 201 1.
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Key Concepts: Voluntary Admission Process for
Inpatient Treatment of Minors

o 2 Types of Voluntary Admission Consent
o Parent Only: A minor younger than 14 years of age may be admitted
with the consent of a parent.
o Parent and Minor: A minor 14 years of age or older may be
admitted with consent of the minor and the minor's parent.
» Consenting Minor - the voluntary, express, and informed agreement to
treatment in a mental health facility by a minor 14 years of age or older
» Objecting Minor — A minor 14 years of age or older who (i) objects to
admission, or (ii) is incapable of making an informed decision.

 Involuntary Commitment — After a judicial hearing, a Court orders the
commitment of an individual to inpatient or outpatient treatment.

Psychiatric Facilities Reported They Do Not Refuse To
Accept A Minor Because the Minor Objects

Issue: Incorrect information about a facility not admitting

objecting minors was disseminated

» AFairfax Falls Church CSB publication incorrectly stated that the local
psychiatric facilities within Fairfax will not accept an objecting minor

» Document has been removed from CSB website

VHHA Summary of Psychiatric Facility Responses: Process of
Admitting an Objecting Minor
» Hospitals do not refuse to admit a minor simply because he is objecting.

* When a minor is fully educated about his or her rights under the law in these
cases, often they become more willing to sign the admissions consent.

Sources: JCHC staff email correspondence with Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association staff and phone call with Dominion Hospital in Fairfax, Virginia.
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Sometimes a Minor Will Not Be Admitted Even When a
Psychiatric Facility Has an Open Bed

 Private hospitals and residential facilities are not required to provide
mental health care

> Excluding any Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act
requirements regarding emergency departments

» Minor does not meet admission criteria because less restrictive
treatment alternatives are available.

« Examples for when a facility may not accept the minor include:

o Patient related: gender (i.e. a double room occupied by a member of the
opposite gender); violent behavior; sex offender; or a medical condition
that can not be managed.

o Facility-related: demands of the current unit population

> Treatment limitations: may not treat individuals with intellectual or
developmental disabilities; eating disorders; substance abuse; or traumatic
brain injury.

Sources: JLARC, Availability and Cost of Licensed Psychiatric Services in Virginia, Senate Document No. 19, 2007 and email correspondence 1
with Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association staff.

Historical Summary of Virginia’s Informed Consent
Requirements for Voluntary Admission of Minors

e 1979 - U.S. Supreme Court Decision

In J.L. v. Parham the U.S. Supreme Court found a child has “a liberty interest in not being
confined for treatment, but parents have an important interest in the rearing of their children and a
significant role in the decision to hospitalize them. The state likewise has an interest in the
appropriate use of mental health facilities. Parent may, therefore, authorize the “voluntary”
admission of their children. However, the risk of error in the parental decision to institutionalize a
child for mental health treatment is significant enough to warrant an inquiry by a ‘neutral
factfinder’ to determine that statutory requirements are met”

e 1990 - Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act enacted in Virginia
Minors 14 years old or older are granted the right to object to voluntary inpatient treatment

Minors may be admitted for a up to 72 hours to a willing facility pending the review by a qualified
evaluator

o 2006-2011-Virginia Supreme Court’s Commission on Mental Health Law Reform

Legal experts, mental health professionals, researchers, judges, advocates reviewed Virginia
child and adolescent mental health related laws and made statutory recommendations
including the codification of the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act

» 2008 —Holding period for objecting minor increased from 72 hours to 96 hours
» 2010 - Codification of the Psychiatric Treatment of Minors Act

Note: A more detailed historical summary is included in Appendix A

Sources: House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly of Virginia, Studying
Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities, Chapter 975 of the 1990 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 783 & 808 of the 2008 Acts of
Assembly, and the Supreme Court of Virginia’s Commission on Mental Health Law Reform website at 12
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State Laws Vary Significantly and Can Be
Classified Into 3 Basic Groups

1. VERY PROTECTIVE OF PARENTS’ RIGHTS

> No judicial review requirement for parental admission of a minor.
Instead, only a determination by an independent examiner (usually the
medical director of the mental health facility)

> Medical standard for admission is that minor will benefit from treatment
and that the treatment cannot feasibly take place in a less restrictive
setting.

o State examples: Arizona, Maryland, Missouri, Minnesota, Ohio,
Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas

2. VERY PROTECTIVE OF MINORS’ RIGHTS
> All of these states require a hearing for an objecting minor

> In some of these states, standards for admission after a minor’s objection
are the same as the involuntary commitment standards

> Most have no “holding period” until the hearing
o State examples: Florida, Hawaii, lowa, New York

Source: State statutory review regarding parental admission of minors conducted for JCHC in 2014. Collection, compilation and
analyses conducted by Nathaniel Bilhartz and Dr. Richard Bonnie, UVA Director, Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy.

Most State Laws Can Be Classified as an
Intermediate Approach

3. INTERMEDIATE APPROACH TO PARENTAL
ADMISSIONS

o Some states set a minimum age at which the minor may object to his
admission (12, 14, 15, or 16)
o Maximum “holding period” varies widely, from 3 days to up to 21 days;
Virginia’s holding period is 4 days.
o Judicial oversight for voluntary admissions of objecting minors;
+ All require a hearing for an objecting minor
+ After the holding period for inpatient treatment to continue, some states require
the court to determine that the minor meets the criteria for:
Involuntary commitment
\Voluntary commitment

o State examples: Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Dakota, Virginia,
Washington, West Virginia

Source: State statutory review regarding parental admission of minors conducted for JCHC in 2014. Collection, compilation and

analyses conducted by Nathaniel Bilhartz, 3L at UVA School of Law and Dr. Richard Bonnie, UVA Director, Institute of Law,
Psychiatry and Public Policy. 14
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§16.1-338: Voluntary Admission Process for Inpatient Treatment:
Minors Younger than 14 & Consenting Minors 14 and Older

Admission Is
Sought

|

Evaluation
within
48 Hours

l

After
Admission
Approval

Requirements: 1) Parent consent, 2) Application for admission, 3) Willing facility, and
4) Minor’s consent if over 14

Evaluator:
. If to CCCA, CSB employee or designee conducts prescreening report
. If to a private facility, a qualified evaluator conducts evaluation

Criteria for Approval of Admission:
1. Mental Illness: minor appears to have a mental illness serious enough to warrant
inpatient treatment and is reasonably likely to benefit from the treatment; and
2. Explanation of Treatment: The minor has been provided with a clinically
appropriate explanation of the treatment; and
3. Least Restrictive Treatment: All available modalities of treatment less restrictive
than inpatient treatment have been considered and no less restrictive alternative is
available that would offer comparable benefits.

Treatment Requirements:
. Within 10 days an individualized treatment plan must be prepared and explained
to parent and minor.

. Parent or minor 14 or older may revoke consent for treatment and minor is
discharged within 48 hours unless minor receives TDO or involuntary
commitment.

. Inpatient treatment through the voluntary admission process may not last for more

than 90 days unless reauthorized by appropriate hospital medical personnel.
15

816.1-339: Voluntary Admission Process for Inpatient Treatment:
Objecting Minors 14 and Older & Minors Incapable of Making an Informed Decision

Admission Is
Sought

|

Admitted
fora
Maximum
of 96 hours
Pending
Review

Larger Font
Text and Bold

denotes
differences
from §16.1-338

Requirements: 1) Parent consent, 2) Application for admission, and 3) Willing facility

Judicial Review:
. Guardian ad litem (GAL) and counsel appointed for minor
. Evaluators’ written report provided to GAL and counsel
. Court will conduct review where it deems in the best interest of the child
. Minor may rescind his objection
. I1f enough information is not provided, the court may schedule an involuntary
commitment hearing
. Judge determines if admission criteria are met

Evaluation: CSB employee or designee conducts evaluation within 24 hours

Criteria for Admission:

1. Because of mental illness the minor (i) presents a serious danger to himself or
others to the extent that severe or irremediable injury is likely to result, as
evidenced by recent acts or threats or (ii) is experiencing a serious
deterioration of his ability to care for himself in a developmentally age-
appropriate manner, as evidenced by delusionary thinking or by a significant
impairment of functioning in hydration, nutrition, self-protection, or self-

control.

2. The minor is in need of inpatient treatment for a mental illness and is reasonably likely to
benefit from the proposed treatment; and

3. Least Restrictive Treatment: All available modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient

treatment have been considered and no less restrictive alternative is available that would offer
comparable benefits.

16
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Data is Limited on Voluntary Inpatient or Residential
Treatment of Minors in Virginia

» No statewide data exists regarding the frequency of minors’:
o Voluntary admissions,
> VMoluntary admissions over objection, or
o Court cases regarding objecting minors

 Part of the picture: 85% of juveniles who receive CSB mental health crisis
evaluations are admitted to private facilities.
(Sample: April 2013 Virginia CSB emergency evaluations)
> Voluntary admissions under §16.1-338 and 816.1-339 require an evaluation by
someone designated by a CSB only when:
+ A minor 14 or older is objecting, or
+ Admission is sought to the CCCA

o CSBs are not required to evaluate minors that are admitted to private facilities
under §16.1-338

Source: The Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy, A Study of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Community

Services Boards in April 2013, December 2013. . 7

Code of Virginia Examples of When Minors Are Allowed to
Consent for Medical and Health Services

Minor deemed as an adult in consenting for ( 54.1-2969.E): Note:

« Mental illness outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation. VirgmAge
* Receive birth control, pregnancy or family planning services of Majority is
» Treatment of venereal, infectious or contagious disease 18 years of age
» Substance abuse outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation (11-204)

» Authorizing disclosure of medical records (related to the items above)

Emergency Services ( 54.1-2969.E):

» A minor 14+ years of age who is physically capable of giving consent must provide
consent prior to receiving medical treatment in cases of a medical emergency, when a
delay in providing medical treatment to a minor may adversely affect such minor's
recovery and no other authorized person is available to provide consent.

Donating Blood ( 54.1-2969.H)

o A mig_or 16+ years of age may donate blood with the consent of a parent or legal
guardian.

» A minor 17 years of age may donate blood to a nonprofit, voluntary organization
without parental consent.

18
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Code of Virginia Examples Regarding Minors and
Criminal Law

o Trial (816.1-269.1): A juvenile 14+ years of age may be treated as an
adult for the trial and disposition of certain delinquent offenses.

« Detention (§16.1-284.1): A juvenile 14+ years of age may be
confined in a secure facility after the commission of certain delinquent
offenses for up to 6 months.

e Summons (816.1-263 A.): A juvenile 12+ years of age is entitled to a
summons when a Petition is filed and the child is a proper or necessary
party to the proceeding.

ILPPP Is Currently Analyzing Virginia’s Adult and Juvenile
Involuntary Commitment Process

e The Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy (ILPPP) has been
quantitatively analyzing involuntary commitment processes in Virginia
for adults and juveniles.
> DBHDS has contracted with the Institute to analyze ECOs, TDOs, and

involuntary commitment cases
o Court case data is being provided by the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Recent ILPPP Publications

¢ A Study of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations of Adults in April 2013:
Variations Across Regions and CSBs

¢ AStudy of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Community
Services Boards in April 2013

i DBHDS . - . .
Gy  Operation of the Civil Commitment Process in FY11
N7 ¢ Study of Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Emergency Services Personnel
in Community Services Boards, June 2007
e —— |+ Civil Commitment Hearings: District Court Variations in FY11
Source: JCHC staff correspondence with The Supreme Court of Virginia and VHI staff, and Institute of Law, Psychiatry, & Public 20

Policy website at http://cacsprd.web.virginia.edu/ILPPP/PublicationsAndPolicy/Index/Policy

9/19/2014
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Minors Do Not Have the Ability to Create a
Advanced Directive for Mental Health Conditions to
an Inpatient Facility

» §37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia sets out a process for
adults to be admitted under an advance directive for mental
health conditions to an inpatient facility

o Provides for an advanced directive that allows an agent to make
decisions regarding admission to a psychiatric facility when the
individual is legally incapacitated and protesting admission

 Under the statute, an individual’s admission to an inpatient
facility can last for no more than 10 calendar days

| No comparable statutory framework exists for minors under Virginia law

Policy Options

Policy Options 2-5 provide different balances for conflicting
considerations. Virginia’s voluntary inpatient treatment of minors law
touches on many important concepts including:
o Liberty interest of minors
» Degree of appropriate:

> Adolescent legal autonomy

> Parental decision-making for adolescent
» Decisional capability of a 14 year old or older adolescent

» Decisional capability of a 14 year old or older adolescent with a serious
emotional disturbance

» Type of fact-finding review for a minor’s potential admission
« Clinical admission criteria for a consenting minor and objecting minor
»  When in-patient treatment is appropriate over a minor’s objection

9/19/2014

11



Policy Options

Option 1: Provide a written report of study findings and JCHC
recommendations to the Senate and House Courts of Justice Committees.

Option 2: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia 88§ 16.1-338
and 16.1-339 to remove the minor consent requirement for voluntary
inpatient psychiatric treatment. The current admission criteria for
voluntary admission of a minor is used.

> Substantive policy of House Bill 1097

Option 3: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia 8§ 16.1-338
and 16.1-339 to remove the minor consent requirement for voluntary
inpatient psychiatric treatment with an option for judicial review for
minors who are 14 years of age or older who object to admission. When
judicial review occurs, the current admission criteria for voluntary
admission of an objecting minor is used.

> Substantive policy of Senate Bill 184

23

Policy Options

Option 4: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia 88
16.1-338 and 16.1-339 to change the minimum age a minor may
object to psychiatric inpatient treatment from 14 years of age to:

A. 15 years of age
B. 16 years of age
C. 17 years of age

Option 5: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §
16.1-339 to increase the time allowed before a petition for
judicial approval is filed from 96 hours (4 days) to:

A. 120 hours (5 days)
B. 144 hours (6 days)

24
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Policy Options

Option 6: Include in the JCHC work plan for 2015 that staff convene a
workgroup to study the idea of establishing an advance directive for
mental health conditions for use by minors.

« The following groups and individuals would be invited to participate in

the

workgroup, as well as other interested parties:
American Civil Liberties Union

+ Attorney General of Virginia

+ Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services

- disAbility Law Center of Virginia

+ JustChildren of the Legal Aid Justice Center

+ National Alliance on Mental IlIness of Virginia

+ Parents of minors with mental health conditions who may need inpatient

psychiatric treatment

+ UVA Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy
+ Virginia Association of Community Services Boards
+ Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association

+ Voices for Virginia’s Children

25

Policy Options

Option 7: By letter of the JCHC Chair, request that the
Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy review and
describe current practices regarding admission of minors
for inpatient psychiatric treatment in Virginia and report
back to JCHC when findings and conclusions are available

26
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Public Comments

» Written public comments on the proposed options may be submitted
to JCHC by close of business on October 24, 2014.

o Comments may be submitted via:

o E-mail: sreid@jchc.virginia.gov

> Fax: 804-786-5538

> Mail: Joint Commission on Health Care
P.O. Box 1322

Richmond, Virginia 23218

o Comments will be summarized and presented during JCHC’s
October 8t meeting

27

- APPENDICES

A. Detailed History - Virginia’s Informed
Consent Requirements for Voluntary
Admission of Minors (1976-present)

B. Behavioral Health Services for Children and
Adolescents in Virginia

28
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Appendix A:

~_ Detailed History - Virginia’s Informed
- Consent Requirements for Voluntary
Admission of Minors

29

Timeline: Consent Requirements for Voluntary
Admission of Minors

» Pre-1976 — Virginia allowed voluntary admission of minors on the request
of the parent or any person standing in loco parentis to such minor.

e 1976

o J.L.v. Parham, 412 F. Supp. (M.D. Ga. 1976) — Federal District Court
held that Georgia's statutory scheme for voluntary civil commitment was
unconstitutional.

> Code of Virginia amended to treat minors above the age 14 as adults for
purposes of voluntary admission

» 1979 - U.S. Supreme Court reverses Federal District Court’s decision in
J.L. v. Parham.

“The court found that a child does have a liberty interest in not being confined for treatment,
but parents have an important interest in the rearing of their children an a significant role in
the decision to hospitalize them. The state likewise has an interest in the appropriate use of
mental health facilities. Parent may, therefore authorize the “voluntary” admission of their
children. However, the risk of error in the parental decision to institutionalize a child for
mental health treatment is significant enough to warrant an inquiry by a ‘neutral factfinder’ to
determine that statutory requirements are met”

Source: House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly
of Virginia, Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities.

30
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Timeline: Consent Requirements for Voluntary
Admission of Minors (Continued)

e 1982 — General Assembly Joint Subcommittee studied civil commitment
laws but not specifically as to minors (HJR 10-1980,
HJR 73-1982)

» 1984 — Task Force on the Commitment Statutes Concerning the Psychiatric
Hospitalization of Minors issues its report.

» 1985 - Legislation introduced but action on bill was delayed due to
concerns that were discussed and studied over the next few years.

e 1989 — Joint Subcommittee Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric
Facilities (HJR 97) established

Source: House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly 31
of Virginia, Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities.

Timeline: 1990 — Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment
of Minors Act enacted (Ch. 975)

Inpatient Admission Consent Revocation of Consent
Less than 14 years of age: Parent Parent
14 years of age or older: Minor and parent Minor or parent

Note: An evaluation of minor by a qualified evaluator is required within 48 hours

Parental admission of objecting minor 14 years of age or older

A May be admitted for up to 72 hours to a willing facility pending the review by a qualified evaluator
B. Minor shall by examined within 24 hours by designated CSB evaluator who will not be treating the minor
C. Evaluator shall prepare a report including findings of whether:

I. The minor presents a serious danger to himself or others to the extent that severe or irremediable injury is likely
to result or is unable to care for himself in a developmentally age-appropriate manner

2. The minor is in need of inpatient treatment for a mental iliness and is reasonably likely to benefit from treatment
3. Inpatient treatment is the least restrictive alternative to meet the minor’s needs.

D If minor is admitted, Judicial approval from the J&DR court is petitioned and Guardian ad Litem (GAL) is appointed by
court for the minor.

E The Court and GAL conduct a review and find either:
|.  The minor does not meet the criteria for admission and the minor is released, or

2. The minor meets the criteria for admission and an order for continued hospitalization for up to 90 days on the
basis of parental consent, or

3. Available information is insufficient and an involuntary commitment hearing is scheduled. (The minor may be
detained 72 hours pending the holding of the hearing.)

32
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Timeline: Consent Requirements for Admission of
Minors (Continued)

e 2008: Process and Counsel Requirements

The Court shall appoint counsel for involuntary commitment hearing and proceedings for
judicial approval of an objecting minor 14 years of age or older. (Ch. 807)
Minors 14 years of age or older who are incapable of making an informed decision may be

admitted to inpatient treatment upon application of a parent. The minor will have the same legal

process protections as a minor over the age of 14 who objects. (Ch. 139 & 774)

Timing and Petition changes to the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment Act (Ch. 783 & 808)
Increases from 72 hours to 96 hours the length of time: (i) to hold a hearing for the
involuntary commitment of a minor or the emergency admission of a minor for inpatient
treatment, and (ii) that a minor may be admitted by his parents to a facility over his
objections.

The time to hold the involuntary commitment hearing runs from the issuance of the
temporary detention order or the filing of the petition for such hearing, whichever occurs
later.

A petition for judicial approval of the admission of a minor by his parents over his objections
shall be filed no sooner than 24 hours and no later than 96 hours after his admission.

33

Timeline: Consent Requirements for Admission of
Minors (Continued)

2009: Minors who meet criteria for involuntary commitment may be
ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment in certain circumstances
(Ch. 455 & 555)

» A person who meets the criteria for involuntary commitment under the
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act may be ordered to receive
mandatory outpatient treatment if less restrictive alternatives to involuntary
inpatient treatment are appropriate and available, and the minor and his
parents have the capacity to understand the stipulations of the minor's
treatment and to comply with such outpatient treatment and they have
agreed to abide by the treatment plan.

« The bill also clarifies that the commitment criteria for minors, and not the
criteria for adults, apply when the emergency admission of a minor is
sought under the procedures for the emergency admission of an adult set
forth in Article 4 (8§ 37.2-808 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 37.2.

 The bill also provides that a minor who has been properly detained by a
juvenile and domestic relations court may petition for voluntary admission
and treatment of mental illness.

34
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Timeline: Consent Requirements for Admission of
Minors (Continued)

2006-2011-Virginia Supreme Court’s Commission on Mental Health
Law Reform

» Legal experts, mental health professionals, researchers, judges, and
advocates reviewed Virginia mental health related laws including the
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act

» In 2009, the Commission recommended the recodification of the
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act

2010-Revision of Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act
(Ch. 778 & 825)

» Revises the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act in order to create

a stand alone juvenile commitment act that will be titled the Psychiatric
Treatment of Minors Act and to eliminate various cross references to the
adult commitment statutes in Title 37.2.

Source: C Ith of Virginia C ission on Mental Health Law Reform, Progress Report of Mental Health Law Reform, December
2009 at http://www.courts.state.va.us/programs/concluded/cmh/reports/2009_progress_report.pdf.

35

Appendix B:

) Behavioral Health Services for

Children and Adolescents in Virginia

36
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Mental Health Base Services for Children and
Adolescents in Virginia

A 2011 Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services report found:
» Inconsistency across the state in the availability and capacity of ‘Base Services.’

» Many children do not receive services early enough, which may mean their conditions
worsen and result in delayed, more restrictive, and more costly services.

Availability of Base Services by Number of CSBs

100%
75%
50% - e — N
25% - o L -
0% —— = === /= S . [
Crisis Emergency In-Home  Mobile Child  Psychiatric Case Intensive Care Intensive In-
Stabilization Respite Care Crisis Crisis Services Management Coordination Home
Unit for Stabilization ~ Response Services
Children

OAdequate Olnadequate B Not Provided

Source: Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Item 304.M. — Final Report: A Plan for Community Based 37
Children’s Behavioral Health Services in Virginia, November I, 2011.

Amending §16.1-338 and 816.1-339 Would Impact Voluntary Admissions of
Minors to Psychiatric Hospitals and Level C Residential Treatment Centers

Central Region East Region
Hospital: Hospital:
¢ CJW Medical Center e Bon Secours — Maryview
« Poplar Springs « Riverside Behavioral Health
e VCU Health System e The Kempsville Center
Level C: Level C:
e Cumberland Hospital e Harbor Point Behavioral Health Center
e Hallmark Youth Care »  Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health
e Jackson-Feild Homes *  Newport News Behavioral Health Center
e MBHS of Kenbridge »  Pendleton Child Service Center
e Poplar Springs Hospital »  Riverside Behavioral Health Centers
«  United Methodist Family Services *  The James Barry Robinson Institute
North Region Northwest Region
Hospital: Hospital:
« Dominion Hospital «  Mary Washington
Level C: Level C:
*  Phoenix Houses of the Mid-Atlantic «  Childnhelp USA
- »  Commonwealth Center for Children
: Southwest Region and Adolescents (CCCA)
Hospital: - . e Grafton Integrated Health Network
= canlignizaanckeMematial e Liberty Point Behavioral Healthcare
« Centra Health . .
. «  North Spring Behavioral Healthcare
e Lewis Gale
Level C:
. Hughes Center for Exceptional Children Sources: JCHC staff email correspondence with officials from the Department
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services and VHL.org.
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