JOINT COMMISSION ON HEALTH CARE



Notes from the Chair Delegate O'Bannon

As the 12th member to serve as Chair, I am honored to continue the very important work of the Joint Commission. To that end, our 2015 work plans will be considered and approved during our

first meeting of the year on **May 28th at 1:15 p.m.** in Senate Room A of the General Assembly Building.

I would like to take this opportunity to address recent membership changes and welcome our new members:

Delegate Patrick A. Hope Delegate Kaye Kory Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler

Senator John S. Edwards Senator John C. Miller

as well as recognize the service and contributions of our departing House members:

The Honorable Robert H. Brink The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr.

Message from the Vice Chair



Senator Lucas

I would like to join Delegate O'Bannon in

greeting our new members and in recognizing our dedicated former members.

I also look forward to working with our fellow Commission members in seeking to address the barriers Virginians face in accessing high-quality health, behavioral health, and longterm care.

MAY 2015

Newslettef



Delegate John M. O'Bannon III Chair Senator L. Louise Lucas Vice Chair

Delegate David L. Bulova Delegate Benjamin L. Cline Delegate T. Scott Garrett Delegate Patrick A. Hope Delegate Riley E. Ingram Delegate Kaye Kory Delegate Christopher K. Peace Delegate Christopher P. Stolle Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler

Senator George L. Barker Senator Charles W. Carrico, Sr. Senator John S. Edwards Senator Stephen H. Martin Senator Jeffrey L. McWaters Senator John C. Miller Senator Linda T. Puller

Secretary William A. Hazel, Jr.

Staff

Kim Snead Michele L. Chesser, Ph.D. Portia L. Cole, Ph.D. Stephen Weiss Sylvia A. Reid

LEGISLATIVE INITIATIVES 2015 General Assembly Session

Senate Bill 779 - Senator Jeffrey L. McWaters

SB 779 sought to amend Code of Virginia §§ 16.1-338 and 16.1-339 in order to:

- i) increase the time that a non-consenting minor aged 14 or older could be held in an inpatient mental health facility from 96 to 120 hours;
- ii) make the basis for judicial authorization, to continue hospitalization despite the minor's objection, consistent with the criteria for a voluntary admission of a consenting minor; and
- iii) require that facility staff notify a parent immediately if his/her child (aged 14 or older) objects to further inpatient treatment while providing the parent with an explanation of the procedures for requesting continued treatment.

SB 773 (Senator McWaters) and HB 1717 (Delegate LeMunyon), companion bills which addressed two provisions included in SB 779, were considered and approved before SB 779 was heard in Senate Courts. Consequently, Senator McWaters asked that SB 779 be amended to address only the excluded provision -

to increase the time a non-consenting minor may be held from 96 to 120 hours.

SB 773, HB 1717, and SB 779 were enacted (2015 Acts of Assembly Chapters 543, 504, and 535 respectively).

House Joint Resolution 534 Delegate John M. O'Bannon III

HJR 534, a memorial resolution celebrating the life of Stephen W. Bowman, was agreed to by both Chambers of the General Assembly. On February 11, 2015, the resolution was presented to Stephen's family in the House Chamber.



October 13, 1973 - December 3, 2014



Meeting Schedule for 2015

Thursday, May 28 JCHC 1:15 p.m.

Wednesday, June 17 JCHC 10:00 a.m. BHC Subcommittee 1:00 p.m.

Wednesday, September 9 HL/HS Subcommittee 10:00 a.m. BHC Subcommittee 1:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 7 JCHC 10:00 a.m. HL/HS Subcommittee 1:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 4 JCHC 10:00 a.m.

All meetings are scheduled to meet in Senate Room A of the General Assembly Building